The Witcher 3: Ghost Mode Mod List

I’m playing The Witcher 3 with a lot of mods. The base one is my overhaul mod – Ghost Mode. And it is compatible with many mods out there, just not with the ones that change game balance. So, here’s my personal mod list by categories with modding guides and tools links, suggestions and explanations.

First things first: if you’re new to The Witcher 3 modding take your time to at least quickly read through the Basic Guide To Installing TW3 Mods. It will give you a general idea about what to expect when modding the game.

Important! Run your game once after installing it to make sure it works!

Necessary tools

Script Merger by AnotherSymbiote is the tool to use when installing multiple mods for TW3. Download, read the guide, watch videos on Nexus. It will save you tons of time and headaches in the future, believe me. There’s also a patch for Script Merger by Partoutatix and woodbyte, but it’s not mandatory – I myself am not using it because the original tool already works perfectly for me.

If you’re experienced enough, you might want to install all the mods manually. But if you want an easy way of managing your mods, here’s the tool for you – The Witcher 3 Mod Manager by stefan3372 and SullivanMcBlueberry. Here’s a guide on how to use it, but really installing a mod with it is as simple as pressing one button. Note that even with TW3MM you still need Script Merger to find and resolve conflicts between mods.

If you’re planning to install a lot (and I mean a LOT) of mods, Mod Limit Fix by sedmelluq and The Witcher 3 Mod Merger by DJ_Kovrik are the tools to consider. Both do the same thing: they allow to increase/remove the mod limit the game has. The first one is an executable patcher, so if you don’t like that kind of tools you might want to stick to the second one. Personally, I have around 40 mods and I never encountered the mod limit problem. But some people reported it even with two mods (although I suspect it might have been something else). So it’s your choice: either to use the exe patch and forget about the issue or to keep the mod limit in mind and use Mod Merger if your game suddenly becomes glitchy (infinite loading screen, missing textures, and so on).

Essential patches

Community Patch: Base is necessary if you want to install Ghost Mode and many of the other mods I’m using. Download, read the readme and perform the steps. Note that the patch can only be installed manually! And do remember to move your backups out of the game folder if you decide to keep vanilla files. CPB is a replacement for Unification Patch: if you have CPB (and you will have it after following this guide) you won’t need UP.

Community Patch: Shared Imports by rmemr is necessary with Ghost Mode. This one can be installed with TW3MM. But it’s also very easy to install manually.

Other patches

Community Patch: The Besserwiser by KoalaNalle, Gerignak, chuckcash, and banmenot is a huge collection of fixes, mostly visual. Personally, I’m still using Nitpicker’s Patch by chuckcash (Old Armor Textures version) and it does the job for me, but The Besserwisser has objectively more stuff so the decision is on you. If you do decide to use The Besserwisser with Ghost Mode, delete the scripts folder from The Besserwisser – those fixes are present in Ghost Mode and you don’t need them. No matter if you’re using The Besserwisser or Nitpicker’s do not merge the conflicting xml files in Script Merger! Give Ghost Mode the priority (in Script Merger – see the guide linked above) as, again, all the necessary fixes from those xmls are already present in the mod.

Fix For Avalach Lab Music by AsarGiN. Essential for me as the latest official patch kills the mood completely in that important scene by not playing the corresponding music. You don’t need this mod if you’re using Community Patch: The Besserwiser.

Han Fix by BlurredNotions. Makes Han look like Han, and not like Arenaria. You don’t need this mod if you’re using Community Patch: The Besserwiser.

Kolgrim’s Skeleton Fix by woodbyte and Partoutatix. Adds missing quest effect to Kolgrim’s remains. You don’t need this mod if you’re using Community Patch: The Besserwiser.

Since I’m playing the Russian version of the game, I’m also using Russian Localization Fixes by DJ_Kovrik. Obviously, you won’t need it for other versions of the game.

Installed all the modding tools and patches? Time to check if your game runs properly! And if not, time to read the modding guide linked above.

Important! Always exit the game and re-run it after script compilation is done! It was discovered, that playing the game without doing so might result in weird bugs occurring, such as invalid (-1) number of potions and probably something else. The nature of this bug is yet unknown, but the above procedure should prevent it from happening.

The overhaul

I’m playing with my Ghost Mode overhaul and if you’re reading this guide, you probably want to play with the same mod too. Since it offers a lot of changes and alters a lot of files it is the mod to install first, before anything else. TW3MM installation is easy, but do read the readme and keep in mind potential compatibility issues.

And yes, run the game after installing the mod to make sure it works and you have the mod menu.

Other gameplay mods

I’m using Preparations to give more meaning to meditation. And I’m using it along with Friendly Meditation mod to be able to meditate in real-time and spawn my own campfires. Both mods can be installed with TW3MM and need to be merged with Script Merger. All the script conflicts should be resolved automatically. Do not merge xml conflicts, just make sure Ghost Mode has the priority. After installing the mods, go through Preparations menus and click on the “Friendly Meditation” preset everywhere. Likewise, go through Friendly Meditation menus and click on the “Preparations” preset. It will set up default behavior for both mods to work together properly: wood for spawning campfires, proper way of entering meditation state, etc. Note that the vanilla meditation menu allows you to skip time, but if you want to do your preparations you need to be in the meditation state without skipping time! To do that press and hold N (default key for meditation menu) or press and hold Right Thumb if you’re using a controller.

Combat Stance allows more control over Geralt’s movements in battle. I’m using the default preset, but you might want to disable the soft-lock entirely – depends on your preferences. Another mod to use if you want a better combat flow is Improved Combat Animations by ReaperAnon. Note that the animations mod can cause the t-posing bug when playing the game for a long period of time. Quitting and relaunching resolves the problem. Both mods can be installed with TW3MM and require merging with Script Merger. All the conflicts should be resolved automatically.

Enhanced Targeting mod by Mpstark is optional and really depends on your preferences. If you decide to try it, make sure you’re not using the “Cast Signs Towards Camera” option as it breaks the targeting for a second or two after casting a sign (and the option is incompatible with Combat Stance anyway). Also, make sure that you have the “In-Frame Check” option on if using the “Exclude off-screen enemies” option in Combat Stance. ET can be installed with TW3MM and also needs to be merged with Script Merger. All the conflicts should be resolved automatically.

Galloping In Settlements, Jump And Sprint When You Need It, No Auto Sword Sheathing/Switching, No Forced Alternative Movement, No Forced Tutorial, No Slow Motion On Kill, No Startup Movies, No Zoom In When Using Witcher Senses – all those are from my TW3 Gameplay Tweaks collection, can be installed with TW3MM and need to be merged with Script Merger. All the conflicts should be resolved automatically.

Wow, that’s a lot of mods! Everything installed? Time to run the game and see if it works!

Quality-of-life mods

All Quest Objectives On Map by Wolfmark (full version, modGenericMerchantsFix is included in Ghost Mode). Hands down, the best QoL mod out there. It allows you to see all the available quest markers on the map and fixes the problem with disappearing merchant icons. Remember that the map has filters and the mod fully supports them. As well as clicking quest icons with the mouse to activate them. AQO mod can be installed with TW3MM and needs to be merged with Script Merger. All the conflicts with the previously installed mods should be resolved automatically.

Friendly HUD is another essential mod if you want a highly customizable smart HUD, in-world 3D icons for tracking quests/NPCs/places of interest and a convenient way to access your alchemy. As well as other useful HUD/UI features. 3D icons support map filters. Colored Map Markers by DJ_Kovrik (AQO compatible version) is recommended for nice matching icon colors. Both mods can be installed with TW3MM, Script Merger is needed, conflicts should be resolved automatically.

Friendly Stash is also essential with Ghost Mode as all the items in GM have weight and you will need to manage your inventory. Which becomes easy with the stash mod. TW3MM, Script Merger, all the conflicts should auto-resolve.

Sort Everything by DJ_Kovrik. For me, it’s another essential mod that resolves vanilla mess with inventory and menu sorting (be careful to read the instructions and perform all the additional steps when installing). A must-have. TW3MM, Script Merger, all the conflicts should auto-resolve.

Alternate Lightsources Interaction by DJ_Kovrik. The issue has become a meme and was even integrated into one of the Hearts of Stone scenes as an easter-egg, but it is still a real pain in the neck. Kudos to DJ_Kovrik for the solution, another must-have. TW3MM, Script Merger, all the conflicts should auto-resolve.

Time to run the game to test your new shiny UI features!

Visuals

All NPC Scabbards by vinh1998/eguitar01. Adds scabbards to NPCs (they don’t have any in vanilla). The mod can be installed with TW3MM. Do not merge xmls, make sure Ghost Mode has the priority.

No Dirty Lens Effect by RumenWest and Remove Screen Water Droplets Effect by FPSRazR. Self-explanatory, use if you don’t like these effects. Both can be installed with TW3MM.

Toxicity – Clean Face and Screen by DJ_Kovrik. The intoxication effect is nice, but it can become a little bit irritating when using alchemy a lot. Depends on your preferences: install the mod to remove it if you’ve had enough of it. TW3MM, Script Merger, all the conflicts should auto-resolve.

Clock Only mod from Minimap Reworked collection by AsarGiN. It removes the minimap leaving the clock only and shifts the quest objectives text up. I don’t like minimaps. Like at all. I’m using 3D markers feature of Friendly HUD to track quests/places. But I still want to see the clock, so this mod is perfect for me. Can be installed with TW3MM.

If you don’t want to remove minimap altogether, consider installing No Herbs and Enemy Dots on Minimap mod by DJ_Kovrik. Removes the unnecessary clutter and spoilers from minimap. Can be installed with TW3MM.

For me, these are essential mods I always play with. Installed at least one of them? Time to check if the game still runs!

Other mods to consider

Community Patch: Menu Strings. If you have more than 9 mods with menus. I don’t, so I’m not using it.

FOV Tweak. There are a lot of huge camera mods out there, but I prefer the vanilla camera. Mostly. I’m using this lightweight mod to tweak Field Of View for different game states (exploration, combat, horse riding, etc).

Better Icons by hyperion_5 (Russian version by DJ_Kovrik). Adds text descriptions to alchemy icons. Can be useful if you can’t distinguish your potions. I’m not using it because I’m using the quick items menu from Friendly HUD and I simply never access my alchemy from the inventory.

Instant Tooltips by DJ_Kovrik. If you don’t tolerate any delays. I don’t like rushing things, so I’m not using this mod.

Unread Descriptions by veyn. Can be useful on the first playthrough. I know the story and the characters and I don’t read those entries anymore, so I’m not using it.

Additional Stash Locations by DJ_Kovrik. When you really want to access your stash, but it’s always too far away. I’m using Friendly Stash which kinda makes this mod less useful for me. Still, it’s a good one and you might like it.

Fast Travel Points Pack by Murzinio (grab the updated version by teiji25). I don’t fast-travel, so I’m not using this mod. But it can be very convenient if you do. I don’t recommend Fast Travel From Anywhere, especially on your first playthrough, as it can break some of the main and side quests. And Points Pack is a good alternative.

Textures/graphics/reshades?

I’m not using any of these. I like the artistic choices of the original designers. So pick the ones that look interesting to you. Or don’t. I vote for don’t as reshades/lighting mods are often tweaked for just one location by their authors and the game looks awful when you go someplace that’s not on the screenshots. And texture mods often don’t fit the game aesthetic. At least this is how I feel. Your perception might differ. I can recommend some graphics mods, though: More Shadows by DJ_Kovrik, Clear Lighting in Toussaint by chuckcash, and Brighter Interiors in Toussaint by CertainlyStenchy.

What else?

Keep in mind that Ghost Mode is a huge overhaul that affects almost every aspect of the game. This means no other gameplay mods. None. Really. Why would you want to install a balance mod and then immediately install something like All Skills Active to ruin that balance? Always think twice. And do test the gameplay with Ghost Mode before looking for additional gameplay mods. Also, keep in mind that GM is very much configurable, so you might want to check its in-game menu before starting to look for an additional mod to resolve your issue.

If you do decide to install something else, watch out for non-mergeable conflicts in script merger – things like w2ent files. They are binaries and you won’t be able to merge them without extensive modding knowledge and unpacking/repacking. Never let other mods override such files! Ghost Mode should always have the priority, otherwise, you will break the abilities and levels of NPCs.

I believe that’s everything. If you have any suggestions – you’re welcomed to post them in comments.

Update: suggestions by other players

These are suggestions offered by other players who play with Ghost Mode as their base overhaul. Note that I’m not using these personally, so I can’t neither confirm nor deny if they’re actually compatible. Manual merging might be needed when installing these.

Complete Animations by stefan3372. Remembered myself because I did some compatibility edits in Ghost Mode at some point – i.e. it should work.

Vampires Have No Shadows by DJ_Kovrik. Suggested by tantei.

Worl Map Fixes by Terg500. Suggested by tantei.

Subtitles for Foreign Languages by Janiskeisari and Trollonly Subtitles by SP3333DO. Suggested by tantei.

The Witcher 3 HD Reworked Project by Halk Hogan PL and HD Monsters Reworked by Denroth. Suggested by tantei.

Update: Mods that are NOT recommended with GM

Autoloot. Vanilla has close to infinite inventory space and millions of items everywhere, including dimeritium plates at peasant’s shacks. It is not the case in GM. Furthermore, all items in GM have weight and you are not supposed to be able to pick 100500 swords and heavy armors as in vanilla. You’re supposed to chose wisely what to keep and what to throw away. If you install Autoloot and try playing the game the way you did before, you will have inventory management problems very soon. So better avoid this one and get rid of bad habits early.

Autoapply oils. Another bad habits mod you should avoid with GM. Autoapply oils makes some of the skills in Alchemy tree irrelevant, and also makes studying bestiary and applying your knowledge in practice irrelevant. Oils are good and worth having on your swords, but you need to learn to use them, not let the game think for you. If you’re struggling with the UI, the mods from my list should help a lot (Friendly HUD, Sort Everything, Better Icons).

Custom Localization Fix. It’s an outdated mod and it’s not even a fix – it’s a hack that allows the game to displays IDs of the text lines instead of the lines themselves if the actual localization is missing. The mod was created a long time ago and it’s irrelevant now as we have tools to produce properly localized menus and other texts. There are old mods that still rely on the outdated localization “fix”, but it’s not recommended to use them as they’re most probably even incompatible with the newer versions of the game. Just search the Nexus for newer alternatives of those old mods you’re trying to install.

23 thoughts on “The Witcher 3: Ghost Mode Mod List

  1. Really appreciate this. Installing many of your mods used to be a real nightmare when I last tried (about 2 years ago). I’m very glad to see you’ve worked very hard to make it easier to get them to work in tandem. This has been very helpful. Cheers!

  2. I appreciate all your hard work and thoughtful suggestions for mods to use. I do feel obligated to voice my defense of Auto Apply Oils, though. (FWIW, I’ve no affiliation with modder or the mod in question, other than the fact that I use it.) My mod choices are almost exclusively geared toward immersion. FriendlyHUD lets me clear the clutter on the screen and only see what I need when I need it. Ultimate Native Controller lets me cast the sign I want, when I want it, or directly access my map, without pulling up a menu. Real Timeflow makes the game pass in real time… and so on.

    As I developed my supply of oils, I found myself navigating to the bestiary less and less as I learned to recognize and identify monster types. But, I still had to pull up a menu before virtually every combat if I wanted the benefits of my blade oils. Immersion breaking and annoying. Ideally, I would like to see a gaggle of monsters, think to myself in Geralt’s voice: “Nekkers. Should use ogroid oil…” and then use the correct button combination to apply it. But while Ultimate Native Controller lets me easily RightTrigger/LeftTrigger to Igni some drowners, then RightTrigger/B to Axii an alghoul, and I can at least assign a few potions and bombs to quickslots, I don’t know of any good blade oil shortcut mods. Auto Apply Oils is not a perfect solution, as it does dumb the game down a bit. But, personally, I’ll accept dumbed down over immersion breaking.

    Anyway, that’s my two cents (and surely worth no more than that). Just my opinion/preference, and I do respect your aversion to a mod that does your thinking for you. I guess I saw “bad habits mod” and felt defensive… Of course, if you ever felt inclined to create a controller-friendly mod that enabled manual blade oil application while bypassing the menu (sadly that’s entirely out of my wheelhouse), I’d drop Auto Apply in a heartbeat.

    1. Friendly HUD does let you apply oils from a less cluttered menu and Preparations has an option to only apply oils *before* combat, making the process more immersive if anything.

      Of course, personal preferences are personal preferences and anyone can play as they wish, but to me a QoL mod that makes at least one skill irrelevant is indeed a “bad habits” kind of mod.

      1. Acknowledged. For me, it’s not the quality or neatness of the menu, just a desire to avoid menus as much as possible. Ideally, I’d like to play for a few hours without once using a menu, just directly accessing a few things (like the map or bestiary, things Geralt might actually look at) through a controller shortcut. I justify using AAO by identifying the monster/type before charging into combat – which I still need to know to use the appropriate signs, etc. – so AAO really just cuts a menu access step out for me for a blade oil application I was going to do anyway.

        Out of curiosity (since I am drawing a blank at the moment) which skill(s) does AAO make irrelevant?

  3. I’m thankful for all of your work.I never finished the vanilla game as the combat/alchemy/loot/experience gain became essentially dull by the time I was level 20 ish and if it weren’t for your mods i likely wouldn’t have picked up the game again.Level 15 now and it’s a whole another and great experience so far 🙂

  4. I thought cool to criticize Custom Localizatioin Fix and say that there are lots of alternatives without naming even one, can you please tell me some?

    1. Just use properly localized mods (this is what “search the nexus for alternatives” means – edited the phrase for clarity). It’s not just a critique for the sake of critique: I explained what’s going on with that one.

      I do remember, though, someone saying they did a rework on localization thingy removing all the unnecessary stuff. Try asking around Ghost Mods discord.

      Basically, the only problem it resolves is making the mod name visible in the Options -> Mods list. But even if it’s invisible, you can still select it and see the options inside.

  5. Hey,
    I’ve been enjoying Ghost Mode a lot recently, although tbh I’ve often found it too be a bit too punishing for my tastes. When I went and did some looking recently, I found this rather handy article and decided that I should try and use some of the mods from it (I’m at 90/100 encumbrance without carrying any extra weapons/armor right now, due in part to ingredient weights).

    However, I’ve been having a ton of difficulty installing Friendly Stash. I’ve carefully followed the instructions given about how to install the Unification Patch and Friendly Stash, but I always spawn with a max encumbrance of 0 (tested on both an existing save file and a new save file). I did see that there was a slider in the Friendly Stash mod to set the base encumbrance level, and that does work- however, horse saddlebags have 0 effect whether I manually adjust my encumbrance or leave it as default. Is this intended behavior? I’ve been trying to fix it for about an hour to no avail.

    1. This means you are not installing the mod properly OR you’re not initializing the settings properly. If that’s the latter, simply set defaults in mod’s options and you will be good.

      Saddlebags behavior depends on the mode you choose – for Roach as stash they increase Roach carry weight, not yours.

  6. Bloody hell. I had a fairly long response typed before I went to double check the default settings. Either I missed the presets at the top, or they didn’t appear when I initially installed the mod. It looks like it works as intended, now- but I find it REALLY weird that the initial settings aren’t the same as the “Default” settings.

      1. I disagree, but it’s a moot point because I found how to fix it regardless.

        Do you have any advice for gaining exp so that I can take quests that are on-level? I’ve done all the side quests that I’ve encountered that weren’t impossible, but I’m still only level 4 at the Bloody Baron quest (Well, mostly- I just hit level 5 with the experience from the Lubberkin). All the other quests that I can see are suggested level 7 and up.

        If it matters, I’ve manually set all Ghost Mode settings to Recommended/Default, Blood & Broken Bones difficulty.

        1. Well, you can disagree all you want, but there *is* a procedure described in the readme to initialize default settings by copying a content of a certain file to your settings file. And W3MM does it automatically if you’re using this particular manager. If you do that, your default carry weight will be 60 and not zero.

          You can attempt any quest regardless of its level. Level 7 is certainly doable at level 4, it’s not a big deal.

  7. First off let me just say that I absolutely adore your mods and consider them the definitive way to play. It’s great to see a modern guide to concise with the best of the best all in one setup.

    The only concern I and many others have to this day is how user unfriendly the Script Merger tool is. It’s dandy when the issues resolve themselves but 99% of all tutorials don’t actually demonstrate how to properly merge the changes from two of the same mods. There are even parts of this very guide you mention that two mods should just resolve themselves automatically but when the scripts are merged there are multiple conflicts to sort out manually.

    I’ve read into posts on several forums all week, watched multiple tutorial videos, and learned a lot so far, but eventually these compilation errors crop up even following guides as good as this to the letter and most people just have no idea how to solve the problem without uninstalling one of the conflicting mods.

    1. Script Merger page has links to several text and video tutorials: https://www.nexusmods.com/witcher3/mods/484

      CDPR did not provide any official way to resolve mod conflicts. Overriding is not an option, it’s a semi-solution for textures, but not for gameplay mod. Hence, community tools.

      In my Script Merger tutorial (https://wghost81.wordpress.com/2017/11/19/script-merger-the-most-important-modding-tool-for-the-witcher-3/) I talk about the basic idea of script merging. kdiff3 is a powerful tool, but merging scripts properly requires some programming knowledge, there’s no definitive answer to all the conflicts different mods might have. You need to read the code and decide.

      Many of the mod authors understand the problem and try to keep their mods compatible at least with the most popular ones.

      All the mods listed in this guide merge automatically. If they don’t for you – then you’ve been doing something wrong. The most frequent problem – relying on Vortex and/or failing to properly install Community Patch Base.

      If you’re using other mods that don’t merge, join GM discord – there are helpful people there who will help you resolving the conflicts.

      1. Well I studied the selected materials carefully this time and let me double down on the claim that Vortex is indeed the absolute most ruinous way to mod TW3! Installing things manually and carefully reading the directions got my game up and working, so thank you for your patient reply!

        I’d only now suggest adding to the Sort Everything suggestion as that mod comes with an additional step to edit your usersettings.ini in the My Documents folder people might skim over.

        Thanks again for all your hard work!

  8. Hi ghost,

    thanks a lot, great mods and a really brilliant guide. Without it I wouldn’t have been able to play around with (many) mods.

    A question: I see you suggest Complete Animations, but I found that there is an updated version on nexusmods (CA Redux) which is supposed to be Ghost Mode compatible. Would you suggest this over the older CA?

    bulbo

Leave a comment